Weight Loss – Help!

I’ve just started this about 2 weeks ago and have already dropped 12 lbs, but in the past three days have gained .6 lbs back. :( I seem to have plateaued ALREADY in the past few days even though I’ve really increased my workout intensity and length in the past 3 days. I could really use some help. I need to lose this weight and it frustrates me to no end that even though I’ve increased my workout and am eating much healthier I seam to have already plateaued. I could use some advice.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. healthandfoodforum
    May 07, 2010 @ 20:51:31

    How much sleep are you getting? Sleep deprivation plays a role in weight gain. You want to make sure you are getting at least 8 hours per night.

    On another note, it sounds like you lost the initial weight really fast – almost a pound a day. It is recommended that you lose 1-2 pounds per week. Some of the weight you may have initially lost is water, not actual body fat. Don’t rush the weight loss too much because other health complications can arise.

    Reply

    • HealthyForMe
      May 07, 2010 @ 20:59:09

      I’m probably only getting about 6-7 hours of sleep a night, so I will try and get more sleep. Thanks for the advice. You’re right. The initial weight loss was probably water weight – how depressing. And here I was thinking I was doing so well. 😦 I can’t stand the thought of only losing 1-2 lbs a week. If I do that it will take me 3 years to lose all the weight that I need to lose. That’s just not an option for me.

      Reply

  2. conquerthefatgene
    May 08, 2010 @ 03:06:45

    You’re not going to like my answer….but as much of 10 lbs of initial weight loss can be water weight. I think you’ve been weighing yourself every day…and as someone who lost 110 lbs (and sadly gained much of it back yrs later), and I can tell you that daily visits to the scale is a recipe for frustration.

    Try making a plan about BEHAVIOR for 2 weeks- things you control like what you eat and how you’re move. and put the scale in the closet for 2 weeks. It will be hard; you will have “cravings” to weigh yourself…DON’T! GO 2 wks and you will be pleased with the loss.

    You have not reached a plateau by any means, but you’re hitting a hurdle that’s even more dangerous…thinking this will be a straight line journey and one on your time table. Neither is true.

    And you say you can’t wait 3 yrs…what does that mean? If you DON”T keepign working, where will you be in 3 years? Probably 10-50 lbs HEAVIER than you are now. Trust me…THAT is what is not an option. 3 yrs will pass either way, YOU have a choice to make everyday…are you losing or gaining? if you’re losing, the TIMING is not important…you’re building a LIFE not hiting a number on a scale.

    There’s some “tough love” here…I hope you’re consider my comments. You CAN do this!

    Reply

    • HealthyForMe
      May 08, 2010 @ 20:41:14

      What I meant by “I can’t wait three years” is just that I won’t wait three years. lol I will push myself faster and harder than that. I know that if it takes too long I will give up, and I don’t want that, I don’t want that at all. I read a story about a man who lost 400 lbs in 2 years all naturally w/o surgery and now he’s a fitness trainer. And I know if he can lose that much that fast surely I can lose HALF that in that same time. But who knows, as long as I keep seeing the numbers go down I know I will be able to keep going.
      As far as putting the scale away for 2 weeks, I don’t think I can do that. I know that I have to weight myself every day and that I can’t think about anything else until I do. I know, it sounds really silly but it’s all I think about first thing in the morning “Have I lost weight today?”. Gah! I know, I know, it sounds ridiculous. Maybe I’m getting obsessed. 😦 But then maybe that’s what it’s going to take to FINALLY get the weight off. I’ve been fat all my life, I can’t be fat anymore. I just can’t live life like this anymore.

      I wanted to thank you for your advice. I will try! You’re such a sweetie! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

