One of Those “Calorie Counting People”…

I thought I could get through this without becoming one of those obsessed women who counts all the calories in all the foods she eats. I didn’t want to be a food weigher and measurer. I thought if I just used sound judgment and chose “healthy foods” I wouldn’t need to have to count the calories. Here was my wake-up call: When I was making a sandwich two days ago I automatically reached for the mayo, but then thought – ‘no I better go with mustard, it’s less fattening’. Why on earth I assumed that mustard is less fattening is beyond me. To me it just seemed to be obvious. However I glanced at the calories of that mustard out of curiosity and it stopped me dead in my tracks. It has 113 calories per TEASPOON, my jaw nearly hit the floor. I thought, ‘oh hell, if mustard has this many calories I hate to know how much is in mayo’. But I had to know; I grabbed the jar to take a look. Only 90 calories per TABLESPOON. What a difference! Still quite a few calories, but compared to the mustard it’s no contest. This floored me and I wondered what other foods I had assumed where less fattening but might really be a dieter’s nightmare.

I then got online and started looking up some of my favorite foods and even some of my “healthiest” foods. I was shocked to find that a banana has 200 calories! Holy moley, I might as well be eating a candy bar with that many calories (though, bananas have a lot more nutritional value). If I had five bananas in one day it would be a THOUSAND – 1,000 – calories (I’ve gotten close, I’ve eaten four in one day before)! And some salads can contain upwards of 600+ calories based on what salad dressing is on it. This was my wake-up call to start counting calories. I had no idea that some foods I formerly thought where very healthy and non-fattening are indeed loaded with calories. As if that wasn’t bad enough I just about started crying when I saw the carb content of some of my favorite fruits and veggies! Carb-a-licious! Heaven help me! But this explained why I had GAINED 2 and a half pounds over the past couple days, despite nearly killing myself in my workouts.

This is so depressing. Now I’m going to have to be one of those calorie counter people, having to find the calorie and carb content of every thing I put in my mouth. And add them all up throughout the day to make sure they don’t get too high. Next thing you know I’m going to have to buy a friggin’ food scale and start measuring all my portions in little measuring cups. I just want to crawl back to bed and cry. Why the hell does this have to be so hard!? Who has time for this crap?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. acuriouspace
    May 15, 2010 @ 01:58:38

    Hi there,
    I was reading this entry and I wanted to reassure that I myself was someone who got caught up in calorie counting and man is it daunting! I think it’s healthy to be aware of how much you are consuming, but I also ended up becoming a bit too obsessed and had to put a stop to it. So after about a month of tediously recording every calorie of everything, I became exhausted and managed to cut my obsessive side by being more aware that I know how many calories are in everything I eat, but it’s OK if I go a little above or below, because it’s true-there’s no real way to calculate everything you actually consume. Plus think about all the calories you burn through just daily activity! So I wish you the best on your personal goal-stay positive, stay focused, don’t become too obsessed and I’ve enjoyed your previous posts as well! Remember that calories are NOT all bad! You NEED them for energy! And high five for all your physical activity! You’re great!
    check out my blog sometime! http://acuriouspace.wordpress.com/

    Reply

    • HealthyForMe
      May 15, 2010 @ 23:10:53

      Thanks so much for the encouraging words, acuriouspace. I think you’re right, I’ll probably have to be obsessive for a little while until I’ve learned all the caloric information for most of the foods I eat and then once I have a good handle on what calories are in what, I can stop being so rigid and stop having to add up every little thing that I eat. I guess I’ll have to get used to the daily math for now though. lol
      I’ve started watching your blog now. 🙂 Thanks for the introduction! *hugs*

      Reply

  2. Clare
    May 17, 2010 @ 19:22:34

    BUT take into account that a 200 cal banana is MUCH better for your body than that 90 cal tablespoon of mayo! And you also need to take into account the “calories from fat” number and the fat grams. I find that as long as I am active, it is the fat content of food I eat that hurts me far, far more than the calorie content.

    Reply

    • HealthyForMe
      May 17, 2010 @ 22:27:14

      Yeah, you’re right – a calorie is definitely not just a calorie, meaning all calories are NOT created equal. That’s for sure. It’s a good reminder. Thanks, Clare. *hugs*

      Reply

  3. Anna
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 23:41:42

    Yes true, things have a way of sneaking in calories. But also think about how much our happiness ends up depending on the little number going up and down with calorie counting and weighing oneself every day. It used to make me very depressed and now I discovered there is no need to put myself through that. Check the number of calories per serving before you even buy the item so you don’t have it in the house. Then once all the food you have is “good” (notice not healthy because granola, for example, healthy but HIGH in calories), you can measure out servings according to how hungry you feel. Always eat less, you can have more later. But when you overeat, well that’s it for the day.
    I don’t recommend calorie counting. For me, it just contributed to more emotional eating when I got depressed I went over the budgeted calories per day. And honestly, there are more things in life to be happy and sad about than measures of energy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

