“Before” Pictures – Weight Loss Journey

I thought I’d post the “Before” pictures of my weight loss. Since these where only taken three weeks ago or so I still pretty much look like this (because a few pounds weight difference is really hard to see on someone my size – I’ll have to lose at least 50 lbs before the difference is noticeable). I’ve lost 15 lbs since starting this journey. It’s coming off slowly – it’s slowed down to about 2 lbs a week (but since most of the weight loss information, books, and sites recommend losing 1-2 lbs a week I’m not going to worry right now that it’s so slow). I do hope to start losing more quickly soon though, but I’m still noodling out what works for me and what works for my body to accomplish a faster weight loss. Two pounds a week is fine but I want to lose faster than that.

Ok so here are the pictures. These where taken about a week and a half into my diet after I’d already lost about 9 lbs. I was at 376 lbs. in these pictures.

I have a long way too go – 230 more pounds to lose before I reach my goal. It seems a daunting task, a task of great magnitude. But I look at it one day at a time, one pound at a time. I know I will get there. I am on my way.

“It is not enough to take steps which may some day lead to a goal; each step must be itself a goal and a step likewise.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slovie64
    May 19, 2010 @ 08:59:14

    I took photos at the beginning and then after a 15 lb loss and my daughter and I were cracking up because we thought I look FATTER in the after photos!

    Don’t let anything dissuade you or deter you! keep at it!

    Reply

  2. Clare
    May 19, 2010 @ 14:43:08

    This is a great idea, you will feel so proud when you see the difference of before/after or even before/half way through.

    You’re definitely going to reach your goal, you have exactly the right attitude and through the blog you have an outlet in case you feel down at any point – and a whole bunch of cheerleaders!

    how tall are you?

    Reply

    • HealthyForMe
      May 19, 2010 @ 21:04:46

      Yeah, I’m hoping that I will be able to see a difference in photos soon, but I’m not going to get my hopes up. I know from watching shows like “The Biggest Loser” that no one can really see the difference until a huge amount of weight is lost when it comes to someone my size. Oh well, as long as “I” know I’ve lost weight that’s what counts. It all adds up. As for your question – I’m 5 foot five inches tall (5’5″).

      Thanks for the “cheerleading”, Clare! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

