The Scale’s Ups and Downs

A month has gone by since the start of my journey. I’m 16 lbs lighter. I wanted more weight loss, faster weight loss – 16 lbs lost when I need to lose 245 lbs total is a drop in a bucket, a sad little “plop” without so much as a satisfying “Splash”. And it’s going even slower now. I’m only losing two lbs a week now (sometimes less). Two pounds a week in a journey of 245 lbs is a long long way away. But it’s one step at a time, one pound at a time… no scratch that …it’s halves and quarters of a pound at a time.

It makes it so much harder when you wake up one day and somehow you’ve gained 2 lbs (or more) over night. This has happened to me three times in the past month. I look back on my food journal and realize these gains come on the days that my boyfriend spends with me all day. These are the days he takes me out to eat; We often eat at his favorite spots on his days off, and unfortunately they aren’t the healthiest places to eat (how do you eat healthy at a Chinese greasy spoon? Or a greasy burger joint?). These little 2 and 3 pound set backs make things so much more difficult for me emotionally and physically. It’s hard when you’ve worked your butt off all week to lose 3 lbs just to wake up to find two of those lbs have come back overnight. I need to figure this out; How do I keep this from happening again and again? I can’t stop going out with him to his favorite places, he would be devastated. But I can’t keep fighting those 2 and 3 lb overnight weight gains either. HELP! Any advice?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sliversofshe
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 11:09:52

    Actually 16 pounds in a month is great. It may not seem like it because 245 is a big number but your progress is awesome. Congratulations and I wish you well on your journey. This is day 71 in my 90 day challenge of losing 30 pounds and I’ve only lost 11 pounds as of this morning. So you’re inspiration in my book. I’ll be checking in to see how it progresses so keep up the good work =o)

    Reply

    • HealthyForMe
      Jun 05, 2010 @ 22:36:28

      Awww thank you, hon! That’s very sweet of you to say. 🙂 You’re right, when you put it into perspective like that I can see that my weight loss so far (although small when compared to how much I need to lose) is actually not a bad start. 🙂 Thanks so much for the encouragement! You put a smile on my face!

      Reply

  2. Shelly
    Jun 10, 2010 @ 07:03:12

    Hi. I found your blog through a comment you made on another site. Good luck with your journey. I have 160 pounds to lose. Maybe we can encourage each other. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Anna Li
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 23:34:43

    i chanced on your blog and i have some advice. you may not like to hear it, but there is no way you can go out to eat and eat at unhealthy places and control your portion size. it just doesn’t happen. even if you eat half of what you order, it’s still grease. from experience, the only way is to cook at home. it doesn’t have to feel like a prison sentence but you can compromise. if the boyfriend wants a burger, fine. you bring a homemade sandwich and you two can eat it together at the park. if cooking is really painful, then go to somewhere that you two can have more options but can also eat together. like a foodcourt. best of luck

    Reply

    • HealthyForMe
      Jun 25, 2010 @ 00:46:41

      I cook every day except for 2 nights a week. My boyfriend would definitely not stand for us not eating out, but we’ve since found a lot more healthier alternatives. We now eat at places with salad bars so that I can get my fill of the veggies and he can eat what he likes. It’s win win. 🙂 He’s been great at compromising with me since I posted this and I’m now down 26 pounds in two months. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

